Devon County Council Election Results 1 May 1997

Election results for the Devon County Council Elections held on 1 May 1997

Barnstaple North Electoral Division

Electorate 9328

Turnout 74%

CHAPMAN Ann The Labour Party Candidate 995
GREENSLADE Brian Carol Liberal Democrat 4273 Elected
McCRUM Susan Jennifer The Conservative Party Candidate 1508
  Spoilt papers 129

Barnstaple South Electoral Division

Electorate 8898

Turnout 73%

PARKHOUSE Mark The Conservative Party Candidate 1780
POLLARD Ivan Liberal Democrat 3616 Elected
WATSON Robert Humphry Labour and Co-Op Party Candidate 944
  Spoilt papers 154

Braunton Rural Electoral Division

Electorate 9204

Turnout 79%

CUMBERLEGE Marc Arthur Richard The Conservative Party Candidate 2517
HANNANT Heather The Labour Party Candidate 696
SPEAR Derrick Wilfred John Liberal Democrat Focus Editor 3977 Elected
  Spoilt papers 113

Combe Martin Rural Electoral Division

Electorate 10422

Turnout 81%

HOYLES Helen Labour 812
KNIGHT Michael Henry Liberal Democrat 4116 Elected
LOVERING Maureen Doris The Conservative Party Candidate 3351
  Spoilt papers 146

Fremington Rural Electoral Division

Electorate 10161

Turnout 80%

CANE Reginald Joseph Liberal Democrat 3499 Elected
CANN Rodney Sheridan Conservative 3022
WATSON Michael John Labour and Co-Operative Party 978
WATTS David George Independent 478
  Spoilt papers 133

Ilfracombe Electoral Division

Electorate 8242

Turnout 73%

ANDREWS Graham Eric Conservative 1073
EDMUNDS Michael John Liberal Democrat 1862
MUGFORD Mervyn James Labour 681
WITHERS Anthony Frederick (known as Tony) An Independent Voice for Ilfracombe 2332 Elected
  Spoilt papers 73

South Molton Rural Electoral Division

Electorate 10458

Turnout 79%

KENDREW Patricia Ann The Labour Party Candidate 583
MERCER Stephen Paul Independent 1412
VENNER Francis Robert George Liberal Democrat 3375 Elected
WEDLAKE Richard Thomas The Conservative Party Candidate 2701
  Spoilt papers 229

Total Electorate 66713

Total Turnout 75% 

Total spoilt papers1.8%