Under the terms of the Local Government and Rating Act 1997 the council is required to compile and maintain a ‘rural settlement list’.
This is for the purpose of administering the village shop rate relief scheme.
A ‘rural settlement ‘must:

  1. Be within a ‘rural area’ as defined under the Housing (Right to Acquire) (Designated Rural Areas in the South West) Order 1997, and
  2. Have a population of not more than 3000 on the preceding 31st December

The Rural Settlement List for North Devon Council for 2015/16 is shown below.

Arlington Countisbury  Lovacott  Rose Ash 
Ashford East Anstey Lincombe and Lee Satterleigh and Warkleigh
Atherington East Down Loxhore Shirwell
Berrynarbor East Worlington Lynton and Lynmouth Stoke Rivers
Bishops Nympton   Mariansleigh Swimbridge
Bishops Tawton Filleigh Martinhoe Tawstock
Bittadon George Nympton Marwood Trentishoe
Bratton Fleming Georgeham Meshaw Twitchen
Brayford Goodleigh Molland West Anstey
Brendon Heanton Punchardon Mortehoe West Down
Burrington Horwood Newton Tracey West Pilton
Challacombe Instow North Molton Westleigh
Chittlehamholt Kentisbury Parracombe Witheridge
Chittlehampton Kings Nympton Queens Nympton  
Chulmleigh Knowstone Rackenford  
Combe Martin Landkey Romansleigh